Theatre Festival Winners

March 3, 2004
Black and gold graphic bar
 March 3, 2004

Margie Yu
Public Affairs Specialist 
(323) 343-3047



Cal State L.A. 
Office of Public Affairs 
(323) 343-3050 
Fax: (323) 343-6405

For immediate release:
Cal State L.A. Drama Students
Acclaimed at 2004 Regional Festival

Los Angeles, CA -- College and university thespians from throughout the southwestern United States, Hawaii and Guam recently gathered in CSU San Bernardino to attend the Region VIII Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF). From this region of more than 700 actors, managers and designers who participated in the event, students from the Cal State L.A. Theatre Arts and Dance Department were among a handful that received critical acclaim from KCACTF adjudicators during the February 9-15 festival.

Cal State L.A. students who worked on the play, Uncommon Women and Others, directed by Cal State L.A. undergraduate student Laurie Lynch, received Meritorious Achievement Awards. They include: Daiana Koren (wardrobe supervisor), Daniel Czypinski (set designer), Grant Cornish (publicity), Jennifer McFarland (house manager), Kristen McKenzie (light board operator), Lindsey Ginter (stage manager), and Rebecca Gonzalez (props/sound operator).

The following theatre arts students were also recognized by the festival for Meritorious Achievement for their work on The American Play: Byung Chan Kim (assistant stage manager), Daian Koren (wardrobe crew), Daniel Czypinski (carpenter), Erika Barreto (rail operator), Lisa Garret (running crew), Michelle Zamora (stage manager), Myieka Solomon (props), Olga Ryabets (assistant director), Sergio Kellog (projections operator), and Suzie Miller (light board operator).

Competing as Irene Ryan Acting Nominees were Jonathan Williams, Michelle Zamora, LaTonya Minnis, Chuck Ojeda, Jillian Brothman, and Lisa Greer. Those competing as Irene Ryan Acting Partners were Vince Tycer, Andrea Enhert, Josue Martinez, Rafael Jordan and Emily Brager. Additionally, Dan Czypinski was nominated for the student designer award for the scenic design of Uncommon Women and Others. The following students were selected to participate as actors in the 10-Minute Play Festival: Rafael Jordan, LaTonya Minnis and Jonathan Williams. CSULA faculty participants were Shiz Herrera, Theresa Larkin and Tanya Kane-Parry.

Winners from the eight KCACTF regional festivals around the country go on to participate in the national event. Roger Stevens, the Kennedy Center’s founding chairman, started the nationwide festival in 1969 to serve as a catalyst for improving the quality of college and university theater in the United States.

WORKING FOR CALIFORNIA – California State University, Los Angeles: A comprehensive university at the heart of a major metropolitan city. The 175-acre hilltop campus is located five miles east of Los Angeles’ civic and cultural center. Since 1947, Cal State L.A. has been a leader in providing quality higher education. Today, the campus comprises a faculty of internationally recognized scholars and artists, and more than 21,000 students with a wide variety of interests, ages and backgrounds that reflect the city’s dynamic mix of populations. Cal State L.A. is one of 23 campuses in the CSU system.

# # #