la symphonic camerata

April 13, 1999





Margie Yu
Public Affairs Asst.
(323) 343-3047


of Events

Cal State L.A. Music Department Presents
The Los Angeles Symphonic Camerata

What & Who:
The Music Department at California State University, Los Angeles will present the Los Angeles Symphonic Camerata featuring conductor David Buck, Cal State L.A. professor of Music, and Cal State L.A. alumna Renee Sousa, soprano. The program will consist of Concerto in E flat (Dumbarton Oaks) by Igor Stravinsky; Knoxville: Summer of 1915 by Samuel Barber; and Symphony No. 5 in B flat major by Franz Schubert.

Friday, May 7, 1999, 8 p.m.

Cal State L.A. Luckman Theatre. The University is located at the Eastern Avenue exit, San Bernardino (I-10) Freeway, at the interchange of 10 and 710 Freeways. Parking is available in the North Parking Structure II for $.50 per hour.

The Los Angeles Symphonic Camerata was established on the Cal State L.A. campus in 1997. The Camerata is an organization of young, professional musicians who gather to rehearse and perform at Cal State L.A.

Los Angeles resident Renee Sousa received both her bachelor's ('93) and master's ('97) degrees in Music from Cal State L.A. She recently performed the role of "Mimi" in Arizona Opera's La Bohème (by Giacomo Puccini).

Altadena resident David Buck is currently professor of music at Cal State L.A., where he is the director of orchestral activities. Buck completed his bachelor of music degree in violin performance at the University of the Pacific in 1966, studying under Ralph Mateskey. He obtained his M.M. and D.M.A. degrees at the University of Washington, where his principal mentors were Stanley Chapply in conducting and Emanuel Zetlin in violin. During this period, Buck was a recipient of grants through the University of Washington from the Martha Baird Rockefeller Foundation.

General admission: $10; students/Seniors: $5. For information, call Cal State L.A. Music Department at (323) 343-4060. For tickets, call the Luckman Box Office at (323) 343-6600.


# # #